Record Collector – Every New Day – Review

The British octet Oriole – a band led by acoustic guitarist and composer Jonny Phillips, and with ubiquitous drummer Seb Rochford in its ranks – return with there third album, Every New Day (**** F-IRE). Subtly fusing jazz with salient Latin elements, they create music that is elegantly understated and[…]

BBC Music Magazine – Every New Day – Review

Performance ***** Recording ***** F-ire’s members have a reputation for flaming avant-guard music but founder member Jonny Phillips who often works with Spanish, Portuguese and Cuban musicians, favours the smoldering, slow burn pleasure principle. Accordingly, Every New Day, conceived and written while he was living in Cadiz, is all about duende,[…]

Quotes – Every New Day

Jazz UK – “and one more pearl the glorious Every New Day” The Jazz Mann – “Unique and thoroughly organic, combining sometimes apparently disparate elements in a unifying, satisfying whole.” **** Record Collector – “Ravishingly beautiful” **** BBC Music Magazine – “Outstanding”Performance*****            Recording(by Joe Leach@CowshedStudio)***** The Observer – Dave Gelly –[…]

Oriole – Every New Day – Mojo

On a label better known for its quirky contemporary sounds, this lovely group led by guitarist Jonny Phillips exudes Brazilian and Cuban timelessness. A warm blend of tenor, cello, and acoustic guitar presents melodies that sound like they’ve been around forever as Oriole bring a great sense of heart to[…]

Every New Day – Manchester Evening News

Oriole is a supergroup with F-ire associations playing through composed work by guitarist Jonny Phillips with restraint and elegance. Every New Day exudes serenity. Occasionally Rochford will stoke up the heat with some second-line beats but, overall, the music is marked by attention to detail and near classical precision. Nor[…]

The Guardian – Every New Day – Review

May 4th – 2012 Contemporary jazz is more often categorized by nervy rhythmic restlessness rather than by luxurious sensuality – but British F-ire Collective guitarist Jonny Phillips infuses swaying Latin grooves with Jazz urgency. Phillips’s beautiful song-shaped themes are delivered by a F-ire supergroup that includes Polar Bear’s Seb Rochford[…]

Every New Day – Press Release

Oriole Every New Day F-IRE RECORDS – distributed by Proper – Release Date 30 APRIL 2012 “Quietly intense, beguilingly beautiful” Time Out “If the lineup sounds like a dream made real, so does the music’ All About Jazz “A musical mosaic that feels as spiritually uplifting as a Paulo Coelho[…]