From the blog

The Guardian – Every New Day – Review

May 4th – 2012

Contemporary jazz is more often categorized by nervy rhythmic restlessness rather than by luxurious sensuality – but British F-ire Collective guitarist Jonny Phillips infuses swaying Latin grooves with Jazz urgency.
Phillips’s beautiful song-shaped themes are delivered by a F-ire supergroup that includes Polar Bear’s Seb Rochford on drums and New York-resident Ingrid Laubrock. The music, and the recording, quietly blaze like an Iberian summer, but the tautness and punch of Nick Ramm’s keyboard-playing, the borderline atonalisms of Laubrock, the quirkily sublime percussion partnership of Rochford and the Brazilian Adriano Adewale give the music contemporary muscle, and are among the telling elements in a set that sounds like the backdrop to an unsentimentally romantic movie that would be really worth seeing. JF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.